Atenție! În această
secțiune există informații necompletate!
Proiect înscris de
Andrei Gelu Mihailescu
Informaţii despre proiect
Bran, Brasov, Romania str. Gen.Traian Mosoiu nr. 24
Echipa de proiect
Compania de Administrare a Domeniilor BRAN
arh. Andrei Mihailescu, arh. Oana Mihailescu, arh. Miruna Haidu, arh. Corina Oprea, arh. Vlad Barata, arh. Mara Tomulescu, arh. Alexandra Negoita, arh. Camil Isacov
- Virgil Apostol - consultant restaurare - Mihai Smocot - proiectant structura de rezistenta - Adrian Mogos - proiectant instalatii electrice - Dan Patenteu - proiectant instalatii HVAC si sanitare - Stefan Cios - continut media - SC Elmas SRL - proiectare si executie lift - SC Stage Expert SRL - implementare show multimedia - SC Rodax SRL - implementare show multimedia
The project site is located in Bran, Brasov county, on the domain of Bran Castle. The whole ensemble of Bran Castle is a historical monument of A category. This ensemble is characterized by its irregular perimeter determined by the configuration of the platform on which the castle is built, the giant mass of rock which is integrated in the northern fortification and the formal and dimensional variation of buildings - towers, residential buildings, spires, curtain wall, ramparts etc.
Since its construction, the fortress was equipped with a 7 meters deep water cistern, dug as a truncated cone into the inner courtyard of the Castle. In the 17th century, the cistern was converted into an approximately 59 meters deep well. Around 1761, the foreigners travelling across the Romanian provinces were sometimes mentioning the distinctive taste of the water in the courtyard of the fortress.
In 1920 the castle became property of the royal family by unanimous decision of Brasov’s city council. Queen Maria restored and arranged the castle, transforming it into a summer residence. One of her favorite activities was walking in the area around the castle, which she turns into an English style park with ponds, a rose garden and a Tea House. To ease the access to the park for the Queen, who has suffering from arthritis a plan was developed to introduce an elevator by the Czech architect Karel Liman. In 1937, in central part of the medieval fortification, the original medieval well was transformed into an elevator shaft and was connected through a horizontal gallery to the park. This gallery had rugged unfinished spaces, with variable dimensions in both height and width and its only function was to be used as a passageway. It had a length of 33 meters and the entrance to this gallery from the park was achieved through a stone portal which had a wooden door. The elevator shaft was crafted in the vertical gallery of the former castle well which was 31 meters and had various sections on its entire height. The Queen had little time to enjoy the comfort that the Stigler elevator was providing, before passing away in 1938. During the communist era, the elevator was abused, massively damaged and eventually abandoned.
Important restoration works began at the Castle after its restitution in 2006 and its transfer to a private administration in 2009. Designing the project took approximately 5 years and 7,000 hours and was developed by an extensive multidisciplinary team consisting of over 100 people having various specialties. The works comprise the consolidation of the two galleries, the replacement of the elevator and the launching of a revolutionary multimedia show.
The project consists in the intervention upon the vertical and horizontal gallery by pursuing the following ideas:
-integrating the space as an extension of the castle and its tour
-changing the function and redesigning the gallery
-creating a permanent multimedia experience
-keeping the tour of Bran Castle as a unique historical experience while adding a new and interesting take on touring historical places
The Time Tunnel’s main point is bringing in the spotlight the dichotomy of old and new with the use of technology, realizing “A descent into the future, an ascent into the past”.
A new route is created, the visitors starting the tour from the inner courtyard, going through the vertical and the horizontal galleries, and ending in the dome, from where he can exit in the park of the domain. While going through it, the visitors experiences historic elements presented in an interactive and engaging manner.
The place of the old well was opened by removing the large wooden door and the excess stone from the existing arch. The elevator was introduced in the shaft of the old well and has its upper station in the space beyond the stone arch with access from the inner courtyard. The new route for visitors starts from this point, through the Time Tunnel.
The vertical gallery was enlarged and equalized on its entire height so that the new elevator could be introduced to connect the horizontal gallery and the castle inner courtyard. The elevator has glass walls so that the users could see the rock while descending into the mountain. The elevator has media screens installed in it and acts as a link, a passage between the castles inner courtyard and the horizontal tunnel. The entire ensemble of the elevator serves as an element which introduces the visitors into the new experience.
The horizontal gallery is the place where the main parts of multimedia experience are presented and was modified accordingly so it could house the new route for visitors and all its elements – interactive screens, video projectors, speakers, light blades, specific fragrances – all creating an overload of the senses. The length of the horizontal tunnel remained unchanged. For one third of this gallery, adjacent to the elevator shaft, the he walls were kept as they were. The visitors can see here the natural limestone rock of the mountain. The other two thirds of the horizontal gallery were enlarged so that the tunnel would have a bigger width and height. The rock was consolidated with reinforced concrete walls and vaults. The wall and vault are left unfinished, leaving the bare concrete visible. The distance between the concrete walls and the height of the gallery is variable on the whole length. The floor is at the same level throughout the tunnel, at level with the entrance from the park. The former access from the park was kept as a secondary exit, maintaining the stone portal and restoring the wooden door.
A new zone annexed to the tunnel was designed in the form of a dome serving as the main access to the park from the gallery. The interior of the dome has natural illumination through an oculus.
It is on the same level as the floor from the tunnel. The whole dome was covered with earth and grass to house the volume in the mountain and subtly making it part of the environment. This way the landscape is barely modified and only the entrance being seen from the park. The access from the park into the dome is done in a similar manner to the original one, with stacked stone walls and a glass door to mark it as a contemporary intervention. Outside of the dome the park alleys were reorganized so that the access from the park is highlighted.
The restorations began on March 31st 2017 and 29,000 hours of works were consumed: 12 miners displaced 330 cubic meters of various rocks, the total excavation volume being 1,900 cubic meters; 420 cubic meters of concrete were cast; 20 kilometres of cable trails were added; over 150 sensors across the entire electromagnetic spectrum; 60 servers and control systems; 80 sound control channels and 120 dedicated software and applications.
The Time Tunnel offers an unprecedented and contemporary experience which fascinates the visitors. It breathes new life and vigor into the old Castle Bran by offering a unique multimedia sight in the European museum community, through lights, sounds, interraction and an elevator wich has the capacity to “descend into the future and ascend into the past”.